Feeling Blessed and Thankful

Yeah, that's me, swift turkey.

In the past three weeks I’ve run three races and set three new personal records. On November 5th I set a new road marathon PR at the Indianapolis Monumental Marathon. Then a week later I set a new PR for a DINO Series 15k at the Ft Harrison race. Finally on Thanksgiving Day I set a 4.5 mile PR at the Drumstick Dash. I feel especially fortunate for the last one because I had been fighting off a sinus infection and also my right calf had been pretty tight but everything worked out on race morning. The calf stayed loose and the sinus infection was almost completely cleared. And of course I couldn’t do any of this without the grace and mercy of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and also the love and support of family and friends.

Next Saturday I’m running the Tecumseh Trail Marathon for the 5th time and I’m really hoping to continue my streak and set a new PR there. The old PR of 4:32:55 dates back to the 2007 race. Physically and mentally I’m in much better condition than I was then but with a trail race that isn’t enough. The weather and trail conditions will be a big factor. So far the extended forecast is looking pretty good though. I have several friends who want to run with me during the race. That will be nice as long as we don’t get over excited and take off too fast. I’m cautiously optimistic about my chances of finishing between 4:00 and 4:15. We shall see. Whatever the outcome as always my prayer is that God would be glorified.

2 responses to “Feeling Blessed and Thankful

  1. I have no doubt you’ll set a PR, even with tougher trail conditions — I would venture to say a sub 4 hour run, not that I’m putting pressure on you!

    I hope to see you there amongst the crowd if I attend.

    Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

